WhatsApp introduces “Delete for Everyone” message recall



If you've ever sent a message to the wrong person or group, which in most cases may be somewhat embarrassing, WhatsApp has finally got the problem covered with the new "delete for everyone" option.

While the app’s former delete function barely removes a message from the senders side, it is fairly useless as it only removes a message for the person who sent it.

The new update affords users the option to “delete for everyone,” which rids the message(s) from the chat windows for all, with a notification explaining to the recipient(s) that the message has been removed.

The company statement reads as follows:

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.


The feature is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong person or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

It is about now rolling out to WhatsApp's over one billion users, and requires the latest version of the messaging app, as all conversation participants must have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their device.
Previous
Next Post »