Facebook Changes Terms of Service - Raises Controversy

Before now, Facebook's terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you closed an account on their network, all rights they claimed to your content uploaded on their site would expire. Not anymore.
According to the new Facebook Rights, the contents you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, once you closes your account.

In no small measure, this new rights have ignited strong controversy of which the blog The Consumerist has commented deeply about. Many Facebook groups formed protests, notable amongst them is one requesting a change in users profile pics.

However, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg's comments about the changed TOS reads thus:

'Our philosophy is that people own their information and control who they share it with. When a person shares information on Facebook, they first need to grant Facebook a license to use that information so that we can show it to the other people they've asked us to share it with. Without this license, we couldn't help people share that information'.

Zuckerberg also pointed this change out as the nature of Social networking sites, and compares it to other similar web services in which contents are shared.
Previous
Next Post »